Terminology can be confusing. With the language around us changing so rapidly due to our online society, it can be hard to keep up with all the different acronyms. It is really important that we are using the correct terms when creating documents and liaising with government bodies.

Here is a list of some terms and their meanings:


The National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) is the government organisation that administers the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS).


National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is how the NDIS provides support for Australians with a disability, their families, and carers.


When it comes to creating an NDIS Plan, a goal describes what a participant wants to learn, develop or achieve. There is a link between what’s important to them, their goals, and the supports they need to achieve these goals. To find out more, read What is a goal?

Reasonable and necessary.

The NDIS funds “reasonable and necessary supports” relating to a participant’s disability to help them live an ordinary life and achieve their goals. Simply put, reasonable is something that is fair and necessary is something that is needed because of a disability. To find out more, read What is reasonable and necessary? 

Significant, permanent disability.

A significant, permanent disability is a disability that a person will have for the rest of their life and that affects their ability to take part in everyday activities.

Early Childhood Early Intervention (ECEI)

Early childhood intervention has been developed as the first point of call for families and aims to support and help children and their families develop the skills they need to take part in daily activities and achieve their ongoing goals. The ECEI approach is for children aged 0-6 years who have an early childhood disability or developmental delay and are not receiving disability supports already. To find out more, read Early Childhood Early Intervention.

Service agreement.

Service agreements are an important aspect of implementing an NDIS Plan because they set out how and when a participant will receive supports from you as a service provider. They are a simple written document that explains your responsibilities and the responsibilities of a participant. For more information, read The importance of service agreements.


This is a person who has been appointed by the NDIA to make decisions, be the point of contact, and/or sign a service agreement on behalf of a participant.

Informal supports.

Informal supports are the types of unpaid help or assistance that a participant might get from people around them, such as family members or friends.  

Price limit.

The maximum amount that a participant can claim for an item is stated in the NDIS Price Guide. The price limit for the same item may differ depending on where and when the support is delivered. 

Supported Independent Living (SIL).

Supported Independent Living is a package of NDIS supports designed to help a person with a disability live as independently as possible in a shared living arrangement.

SIL can include all the supports a participant may need to be independent in a home environment such as personal care, assistance with daily tasks, or help to get around. For more information, read What is supported independent living?  


AHAS can help you connect with your NDIS participants and ensure that the correct funding and paperwork is done for you behind the scenes, leaving you more time to spend face to face with your client. As the NDIS changes, I’m sure we’ll be adding new terminology to this list in the future!

By Annie Porter